Airship27

Welcome to Airship 27

My name is Ron Fortier, and I have been a professional writer for over forty-five years. I have worked on comic book projects such as The Hulk, Popeye, Rambo and Peter Pan. With my two most popular comic series being The Green Hornet and The Terminator (with Alex Ross). With Ardath Mayhar I penned two TSR fantasy novels, and in 2001 I had my first play, a World War II romantic comedy, produced.

This site serves as a portfolio of the work I’ve done to date, as a showcase for projects in the works, and as home for my online Journal (below), which will be updated frequently.

I am currently writing and producing pulp novels and short stories for various publishers and have several movie scripts floating around Hollywood looking for a home, and if that isn’t enough, I also have a review column at the www.pulpfictionreviews.blogspot.com website.

Get the latest news, post your comments, questions, or just say hi at my online forum.

A devoted grandfather of six, at 71, I am thrilled to be part of the new web-comic evolution. Part of this joy is in the realization of a life long dream, that of becoming a pulp writer.

Thanks for visiting, and enjoy your stay.

ADDING PROF CHALLENGER

12 Oct | '2018

Greetings Loyal Airmen, earlier this week, we released the news that Airship 27 is soon to launch a brand new anthology feature Arthur Conan Doyle’s scientist hero, Prof. George Edward Challenger. Below a few illustrations from various stories. And below them our actual Press Release.

PC1-17f5728ab04197dd310d771cc0b831eb26_800

AIRSHIP 27 TO ADD PROF. CHALLENGER

It is no secret that Airship 27 Production’s best selling books for the past six years have been their volumes in the “Sherlock Holmes – Consulting Detective” series. Now twelve volumes rich, they continue to sell and are constantly on Amazon’s top mystery anthology list year after year. To their thousands of loyal readers, reason for this continued success is no secret. All Airship 27 Production’s “Consulting Detective” books are done strictly in the tradition of Holmes & Watson’s creator, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. Now this leading New Pulp publisher is hoping this formula will work a second time as they prepare to launch a brand new anthology based once again on a Conan Doyle character; Prof. George Edward Challenger.

“After Holmes, Challenger is clearly Doyle’s most popular creation,” says Airship 27 Production’s Managing Editor Ron Fortier. “Which is why when our pal, and fellow writer, Gordon Dymowski approached us about doing a series featuring George Challenger, we were eager to hear what he had in mind.”  Dymowski, a popular Chicago writer and blogger, is also known as an enthusiastic Doctor Who fan and can be found at most Who related events in the Windy City.

“Gordon not only suggested the concept,” continued Fortier, “but actually went the extra step by writing up a Prof. Challenger bible.”  A bible is the name given to character data documents with which editors use to introduce perspective writers to a series. “Our hope is to elicit interest from established New Pulp writers in our community. Anyone interested in submitting should contact me and I’ll happily send them a copy of the bible.” Fortier ends with stating this is not a project for new amateur writers and Airship 27 will only look at those inquiries send in from known, published writers.

Will lightning strike twice?  Time will tell, while Fortier and Dymowski certainly have their fingers crossed.

AIRSHIP 27 PRODUCTIONS – PULP FICTION FOR A NEW GENERATION!

ChallengerChronLOGO

One of the things a writer needs is patience. Something not taught in writing classes, which is a mistake. You see Loyal Airmen, the publishing business is not always a smooth sailing machine and every now and thing things happen to slow the down the assembly line. A writer can write a story, submit to an editor and then end up waiting months, even years before that book is actually published. Which is why the Air Chief keeps a short list of those stories he’s written that have yet to see the light of day. One such was a tale we did for a Moonstone project featuring an old radio private eye named Johnny Dollar. The editor is our dear pal, Tommy Hancock, and he came to us many, many years ago asking if we’d like to contribute. The Air Chief rarely writes in First Person style, but it was necessary for this particular project and that proved to be a challenge we enjoyed a great deal.

SSC#34

Imagine our surprise when a few days ago Tommy contacted all of us who had contributed stories with the news the book was actually on Moonstone’s publishing schedule and will soon be released. Above was an early cover by artist Doug Klauba. We aren’t sure if it will still be the cover, but wanted to show if off regardless as we love Doug’s work. Anyway, all these years later and at long last, “Your’s Truly, Johnny Dollar” is coming your way. Aside from the Air Chief, the book also features awesome stories by Barre Reese, Gary Phillips, Joe Gentile, Tommy of course, and others. All popular, super talented New Pulp scribes. Color us happy, and grateful to have hung in there. We’ll keep you posted when it is officially released and how you’ll be able to pick up a copy.

And that’s it for another week, Loyal Airme, as ever, thanks for stopping by.

Ron-Over & Out!